What fluids does everybody run?

Hey guys, I’m trying to get the car running for norcal spec e30. The engine is almost completely installed (just need to get the aux fan and exhaust hooked up this weekend)

However, I’m new to racing so I figure I should ask the experienced what they run.

What brand/grade of oil, coolant, brake fluid, and manual transmission fluid do people like?

Also, a little off topic - but can anybody share what their setup for rule - “8.10.1. A catch tank for radiator overflow and oil breather (if vented into the atmosphere) is
mandatory.” - looks like? A picture and a description would be great.

2nd off topic shenanigans - Does anything special need to be done to remove the charcoal canister? Or is it just remove it and plug up and holes left?

more off topicness - Are there any kinda hidden/largely unnoticed rules that bite people in the butt? I only just noticed the catch tank rule today!

And if you’re interested - here are some pics of the build so far. http://imgur.com/a/XmweH

Inexpensive oils with good high temp shear #'s and enough ZDDP anti-wear additives.
Vavoline VR1 Conventional 20W50
Brad Penn 20W50

Not inexpensive oils with good high temp shear #'s and enough…
Redline 20W50
AMSOIL Dominator (not AMSOIL DD oils they have too much detergent)
If you are M1 fan, use their VTwin 20W50.

Oil’s like religion. Lots of disagreement. There are a couple other good oils for us, but only a couple.

Brake fluid. Most common one in use is prob ATE SuperBlue.

Tranny fluid. I’m partial to AMSOIL and Redline because their engine oils are so good.

Catch tank. Easy solution is to go to the track and look what others are doing. You just need the hose on your coolant reservoir to go to a bottle somewhere.

Thanks for the input! Do you usually buy the fluids online, or do you have luck finding them locally in stores?

How much do you REALLY want to know about lube oils?

www.genosgarage.com
Technical Articles
Debunking Lube Oil Myths (TDR #55)