Video of my rollover

Here’s the video of my rollover - http://youtu.be/R92eUXohpGk Please share this video and make sure all of your racer buddies know the rules and situations to keep racing fun and safer for all of us.

I was the other car involved. Here is my video.

https://vimeo.com/68543464

I understand the rule to be, in essence, front wheel next to driver. I’m a relative newbie but to me, that was pretty close, and it sucks for both drivers.

btw, I remember seeing video of an almost identical incident within the last year or two - same track and turn IIRC.

and just an observation, having just checked: almost all of the examples in the CCR deal with overtaking into a corner. none of the examples speak directly to taking a line after having tracked out and entered a straight. I know the wheel/driver rule should still apply, but maybe adding another example or text in the CCR would be useful.

I watched the videos over and over again and it’s still not all that clear to me what happened. Reminds me a lot of Palacio getting punted by Walsh last weekend at RA. Both Palacio’s and Walsh’s videos show two cars side by side w/o either driver’s hands moving the steering wheel towards the other. I guess that means that one or both cars was gently crossing the track with the steering wheel straight?

In this incident it looks like when the punt occured Jeff was pretty near the left edge of the track. Since he’s the over-taking driver, even if they were side-by side for 15secs, he would bear more responsibility to ensure everything works out. But at some point side by side for an extended period means there’s no passer and passee.

Anyone see Jeff turn into Rob? There is a little rightward dart of Jeff’s steering wheel at almost the exact heartbeat of impact but I think that was Jeff’s automatic reaction to his front end getting bonked to the left.

I don’t know either Jeff nor Rob so I’ve no dog in this.