The New Ranger 6 Build Thread

This all came together a lot faster that I thought it would. I got an '87 that did some GTS2 races a couple yrs ago and has been sitting under tarp since then. All it really needs, I think, is for the front springs to be put in, and for the radiator and hoses to go back in.

It’s not much to look at right now, but it will turn out just fine. I’m leaning towards a tan or sand colored paint, and using black decals.

Pic from a couple yrs ago:
http://www.motorsport.com/roadracing/photo/main-gallery/1987-bmw-325is-mike-2/

That’s always how it goes. Congrats!

Congrats Scott.

Outstanding! I’m looking forward to progress posts and completion.

I’m no expert, but aren’t those plastic bumpers? You might have an 88 or 89 on your hands.

Regardless, congrats!

PS - The top several cars in December were all small bumper cars. I expect to see you right there in February. :woohoo:

The new car arrives at our house. The engine had not been run in 18 months. I got it running and drove it into it’s garage. It will emerge some months from now looking fabulous.

The first thing I’m going to do is clean the rust off the the cage and paint it. The cage is solid enough, but the rust looks bad, especially on the feet.

@Steve. Someone upgraded the bumpers to late model. I’m going to put aluminum bumpers back on.

[quote=“Ranger” post=61712]@Steve. Someone upgraded the bumpers to late model. I’m going to put aluminum bumpers back on.[/quote]Dibs on the take-offs. :slight_smile:

[quote=“Steve D” post=61714][quote=“Ranger” post=61712]@Steve. Someone upgraded the bumpers to late model. I’m going to put aluminum bumpers back on.[/quote]Dibs on the take-offs. :)[/quote]Forget Steve; he’s selling out! I really need a front bumper to set mine right after whacking the Mustang at the Toy Race!

In all seriousness, if it’s for sale, I’d be interested.