MUST NEED LIST: to stay running strong

i want to know what parts exactly should i replace on my e30 to keep it running cool, reliable, and fast.
Im a college student and running on a tight budget and i will be driving the car to the race track. i heard many different people tell me i need to switch out engine mounts/ install a race radiator and remove the mechanical fan from the engine/ and so much more. I would like to know what exactly are the things i should really look at replacing/upgrading on my car to keep it running reliable and safe enough for me to race all weekend and drive home at the end of the day.

my A/C doesnt work so i was planning on removing the compressor.
i did a compression check and the range was from 145-155(is this good for racing conditions?)

RSchwyn wrote:

[quote]my A/C doesnt work so i was planning on removing the compressor.
i did a compression check and the range was from 145-155(is this good for racing conditions?)[/quote]

Your compression sounds fine but if each cylinder only got tested once or twice, I’d do it a couple more times. Hook your battery to a charger and do the test enough times such that you get repeatable results 3X on each cylinder.

Try to make the test as consistant as you can. Run the starter the same amount each time, and gently torque the tester into the spark plug holes the same amount, each time.

Reliability is all about maintenance items. Belts, fluids, hoses, etc. The next tier up is bushings, bearings and suspension bits such as tie rods and control arms. It never really ends.

RSchwyn wrote:

If you are starting from scratch, I’d recommend the tune-up/spark & fuel delivery stuff (plugs, wires, dist cap & rotor, coil) and sensors before I would worry about radiators and motor mounts.