Windshield tear-off. Good idea?

I just put in a new windshield and would like it to last longer then a 1/2 season. How hard it is to properly install the tear-off’s? Do you end up with something that is optically correct?

Why don’t you experiment with it and let us know how it goes.

Gasman wrote:

Now that jape was low hanging fruit.

I think they’re a good idea. I 'tried’to put one on my car.

Here is a speed tip - don’t do it at the track. In fact don’t drive your car until you have it on (ie right after the windshield has been replaced).

I got one from Chuck and even after one or two track sessions at RRR my windshield was already marked up enough to make the installation not good.

Of course I’m not good at putting stuff like that on. Shocking to anyone that has seen my flawless decal application I’m sure.

So to summarize:
Buy one from Chuck
Do it right after windshield install
Know what you’re doing or have someone that knows what they’re doing help (‘do’).
Don’t install at the track but in a nice garage out of the sun

Chuck and Patton actually have them functioning on their car.

With the cost of replacement glass…well, maybe that is not a good arguement 'cause I’ve seen some cheap glass. With the cost of labor or aggravation of do-it-yourself, the tear offs are a great idea. While you are at it, purchase a skid plate, some shock tie-downs and removeable hood pins from Chuck @ 770-350-2382 (shameless promotion).

Regards, Robert Patton

As soon as my windshield finished pitting and cracking to death (i.e. after Rockingham) I’m going to replace my windshield (got one ready and waiting) and put one of Chucks tear-off’s on before a bird has a chance to poop on it.

It’s a long story but it took me three tries to get one to stick properly. (Not product’s fault. Installer problems.)

Here is a tip. Install it on a hot day with no rain and no pollen. Use lots of soapy water and get a good squeegee.