Where to go now? HPDE + Reliability parts Inside

Ok so I’ve had pretty much zero interest in my BMW and am probably going to end up stuck with it for another year (oh darn :)). Anyways, I think I’m going to continue working on it slowly to get it fully ready and reliable for track days.

Now here is where I need some help. Say I can get together $1000. Where is it best spent? Keep in mind the brakes are good to go and I’ll be getting new tires (probably Azenis or Star Specs since I’m just beginning).

I was thinking crank scraper (teflon), accusump, and then general BMW wear items.

Spark plug wires and plugs
Coolant temp sensor
Whatever else you guys come up with

Also, I’d like to eventually add oil temp, oil pressure, and water temp gauges. Are there any writeups on how to install them and what to buy? I don’t understand anything electric at all so I started looking into it and realized I have no idea where to put sensors and what to buy.

It would be a help to know what’s already been done to the car.

For a DE car I’d want good:

Tie rods
Control arms
Control arm, trailing arm, and subframe bushings
Motor, transmission and differential mounts
Cooling system
Shifter bushings or SSK
Crank scraper
Oil pressure gauge

A secondary water temp gauge is good, but the OE gauge is okay. Oil temperatures usually aren’t a problem on an M20B25.

New ignition wires, distributor cap and rotor are good idea as what is on the car is probably 20 years old.

If you do the work your self you can probably do all of that for $1000.

From what I saw while poking around under there the bushings look like they’ve recently been replaced since they’re in great shape. I agree with the shift bushing/SSK because my shifter feels pretty loose (although I’m comparing that against a 97 Integra).

I may also buy the Spec exhaust since mine is in rough shape and has a leak in it but that’s only $220 if I remember correctly.