What a moron...

Anybody else ever forget to latch the trailer tongue? :huh:

WTB: Lower portion of E53 rear tailgate. Kalahari beige. :frowning:

Steve D.

I have a ding in the tailgate of my my F150. The hitch was locked down, but I failed to put in the combo lock. Got a bit exciting as I drove the car onto the trailer.

Steve D wrote:

[quote]Anybody else ever forget to latch the trailer tongue? :huh:

[/quote]

Yep. Didnā€™t damage my truck tho, just looked like a rook in front of the peanut gallery. Bummer bout your car.

Try hooking up your 2-1/8" ball to your 2-5/8" hitch(or whatever size that is). And then try loading your car on the trailer. And then watch the trailer go smashing into your tailgate.

Been there and done that. $550 lesson hopefully only learned once.

Of course.

Not only was I a rookie race car driver 2 years ago, I was also a towing virgin. I have a plethora of degrees from the School of Hard Knocks. One of them was loading the car onto the trailer without locking down the tongue. Fortunately, it was when I was using my Dodge Ram pickup (murican truck) and dented the sh!t out of the chrome bumper, but that thing is a workhorse, not like your dainty X5 (or my Touareg).

Robinson got his trailer grid locked at a gas station. About 35 minutes later (of listening to every redneck between Atlanta and Savannah tell us it was easy to get it ā€˜unstuckā€™ ), we unhitched it, busted out a hydraulic jack, and manually wheeled the trailer into a position where he could get it out. I think Jim has a picture of it.