Stainless steel brake pistons

Are they allowed in spec racing?

No offense, but have you read the rules?

In spec racing, if it’s allowed, the rules will say so. If it’s not in the rules, then it’s not allowed.

Wasn’t sure if any oem cars had stainless steel pistons or if it could be done within the rules . I have the rules pdf up in the next window. Just trying to make sure when I get the car teched it’s within the rules. Sorry to offend you with a dumb question

Are polyurethane bushings allowed in sway bar links? Im new to this humor me

“They are a direct replacement for the stock pistons in your Ate caliper.”

I’m actually pretty certain they’re legal now

No one’s likely to care what your slave pistons are made of, but in general terms it is important to be wary of deviating from OEM. Read the rule book very carefully. If the car will go to nationals, one should know the rule book like the back of their hand.

It’s been a while since I rebuilt E30 calipers, but you’re probably right to assume that they are stainless steel. The whole “direct replacement” thing is nothing to take comfort from tho. That’s just marketing foolishness. The phrase has no clear definition.

Sway bar endlinks are steel. The bushings that hold on to the bar are non-metallic, some Urethane, some rubber, some a mystery.

I do understand your point. Not everything is in the rules. Those of us that have been doing this a long time are so familiar with the various conventions for different parts, that we don’t even think of it any more. I can understand how someone just building a car, would have lots of questions. But that’s why the forum and the fb page are here.

I got a set of the Meyle HD sway bar links for the front. Is that something I should reconsider or will it depend on how nit picky the tech inspection is? Considering how cheap oem links are i may just roll the dice and buy a back up set of those in case they say something