Spark plugs

I figured that after 5yrs, it was time for new plugs. What to get?

Bottom line. After spending an hour trying to puzzle this out, I bought NGK 7131.

My notes from Chuck Baader said that 1) For racing get a plug 1 step colder than OEM. 2) Good solution is the Autolite AR53.

The AR53 is hard to find and I’m not good at patience. I wanted something I could get either locally, or at worst, a couple days.

There’s a couple ideas as to what plug we’re supposed to be using. The original stuff isn’t available anymore. Bosch now says WR8LC+. Bimmerworld and Turner say W8LCR. The common thread is the 8 which is the # designating a cold or hot plug. And Chuck said for racing do one step cold. For Bosch, that means a lower # so 7. But how to find a plug that is the same, just colder?

The way I figured it out was to go to NGK. The Bosch WR8LC plug corresponds to the NGK ZGR5A. In the NGK world the colder plug is a higher # so 6. That led me to the ZGR6A and BPR6ES. Those don’t get a lot of hits, but if you use the NGK part # for BPR6ES…7131, now you can find them anywhere. I got mine at the local autoparts store.

The AR53’s have always been in stock for me at my local Advance Autoparts.

I would like to understand why colder? For a turbo, when you up the boost, you are basically putting more energy into the combustion. Colder plugs allow that energy to be dissipated from the plug faster. If your plugs get too hot you risk pre-ignition, but if they are too cold you risk fouling.

With our cars, same as octane rating discussion. If you are using your engine as intended without any issue/bad fuel regulator or air leaks or made any changes this change would be unnecessary.

This is what happens when they are too hot, but I have yet to see an E30 have this issue.