So i wanna get a Spec E30....

Hey guys, my names Jon and im from southern California. I am very interested in getting a spec e30. After doing a little research it seems like spec e30 is a good first race car to get into. I’ve been racing go karts for about 10 years now, and i have a little experience in sprint cars and formula cars.

My main issue is money, which is tough to come along these days. My question to you guys is simple. Is the money that i would invest into this race car worth it? It might seem like a vague question, but after racing for years on a budget i’ve always tried to get the best bang for my buck.

Around how much $$ would a competitive, race ready car cost? Do the cars run on slicks? And if so, how long do they last? Also, around how many people would i be racing against if i raced with NASA in California?

I love the idea of spec racing. I’ve raced rotax max karts for a few years now, and those are sealed motors. It makes things a lot more even as far as motor performance goes, and it really comes down to driver and set ups to win a race. Just thinking about it gets me excited. I really want to pursue this task and try to figure out the set ups and how to drive the thing. I will try to go to the next spec e30 race to try to look and see how things are done. See you guys at the track!

You can get race winning cars for $10-12k. We don’t run on slicks, we run on Toyo RA1 R compound tires which come with grooves and can be shaved. They cost at least $600 a set brand new, and how long they last seems to be very debateable.

You can get cars that haven’t won races for $8-10k I figure. In our class don’t worry too much about cars that have won races. It’s the drivers winning the races, not the cars.

Jon, post over in the CA subforum. Mumble something about mentoring in exchange for beer and your collection of Kazakhstan bondage mags.