Ignition Coil & Header

Hello all. I’m new to Spec E30 and hope to have something together, all be it not very comptitive (325e), by summertime. I have some questions though so I’ll get to them one at a time by section. Just a fiar warning, this whole "spec" thing is new to me. I have built Honda’s until now and we all know there are alot fewer restrictions.

Anyway. When I first got this car the coil, amoung other things, was bad. I opted to replace it with a MSD coil because it was about half the price and was readily available to me. The rulebook says nothing of ignition coils and since they are left out and by the way the CCR was written if it left out then you have to leave it as it.

So are MSD coils okay?

Also I have a MSD igntion box I was going to put int but now I think I won’t since the rules state nothing of it being okay, right?

Also I bought a shorty header I was going to install but the rules say only the exhaust after and including the cats can be modified. Am I to assume that headers are not allowed?

Thanks.

I can make this simple for you.
If the rules don’t say you can do it, you can’t.
All of the items you list are not legal.
Also, the 325e is not a suitable donor car. If you read the front page of the site you will find the SU class is being dumped since there were essentially no cars running in it. I would sell the 325e and find a 325i instead, much easier than trying to make an e into an i.

First of all, it’s good to see you here.

Secondly, we wrote the Spec E30 Rules to limit modifications, and thus costs. The Rules aren’t perfect but they are stable and mostly straightforward.

The bottom line - if the Rules do not specifically address an item, it must stay (or be changed back) as it came from the factory when it was built. You want to start with a car that is as stock, and complete, as possible.

Print the rules, look at your car, and go don’t the list.