Hi, want to get involved

Hello all. I’m Andrew from North Texas. I’m a fan of any type of racing (legal) and I’ve been over on M3F for a few years. King Tut posted a video of him racing and I told him I want to do that so he directed me here and to NASA. I’d love to get into your type of racing. I need to go through the HPDE levels so hopefully in 2 years I can get involved. Meanwhile, I’d really like to watch and learn.

I’m a complete noob and waiting for a HPDE here in my region so I can participate at the very bottom. Any thoughts or advice you have for a complete newbie would be cool. I’d like to get to a race and watch sometime in the future.

welcome to spec e30

heres my advice for you

Do you autox? It helps despite what everyone else here will say. What are you going to drive in hpde? If nothing else before your first hpde get high performance brake pads. New brake pads from the local autozone won’t cut it unless you want to start a fire. Hawk hp+ are great for street/autox/track. You need a SA2005 or newer helmet. ioportracing.com has pyrotect SA2005 helmets on clearance right now for super cheap and they won’t last long. It’s fine to do your first de on crap tires but you should have some max performance or comp tires by the next weekend. It is very frustrating to have tires degrade so quickly that you have less and less grip from one corner to the next.

Let me stress the point of High Perfomance brakes again. On a buddies mustang gt at Road america I went from half an inch of stock pad to metal on metal and skipping over the curb of corner 13 in 15 minutes, my first session of the day. The grid workers were kind enough to tell me that flames were coming from the wheels when I pulled in. The rubber boots around the brake pistons were what was on fire.

[quote=“turbo329is” post=59768]welcome to spec e30

heres my advice for you

Do you autox? It helps despite what everyone else here will say.[/quote]