Heater delete kit

This kit will plug the port in the back of the head, and plug the port in the thermostat housing. This is best installed with the head off or the engine out. Otherwise the port behind the head is hard to get to. The charm of this is that it eliminates more cooling system failure points.

http://www.akgmotorsport.com/catalog/catalog.php?category=e30%20Engine%2FDrivetrain

I’ve been debating about this for a couple of months now. It really comes down to poor options for defogging the windshield. Definitely need to replace all the hoses before one goes out on track though.

[quote=“Ranger” post=54697]This kit will plug the port in the back of the head, and plug the port in the thermostat housing. This is best installed with the head off or the engine out. Otherwise the port behind the head is hard to get to. The charm of this is that it eliminates more cooling system failure points.

http://www.akgmotorsport.com/catalog/catalog.php?category=e30%20Engine%2FDrivetrain[/quote]

Ranger, Can you be more specific “plug the port in the thermostat housing”

I’m confused as to exactly where the plug goes.

Thanks

My heating system has a hose coming from the expansion tank to the thermostat housing AND to the heater core (it is a “T” shaped hose). If I remove this hose, what do I do about the port on the expansion tank (I don’t see a third plug in the set), and how will the tank continue to operate?

Right now I have the heater core removed and have twisted the end of the “T” hose over so it hooks up to the port on the back of the head.

[quote=“PDS” post=54709][quote=“Ranger” post=54697]This kit will plug the port in the back of the head, and plug the port in the thermostat housing. This is best installed with the head off or the engine out. Otherwise the port behind the head is hard to get to. The charm of this is that it eliminates more cooling system failure points.