Engine Rebuild Help

I blew an engine a while back and and picked up a used one that I’d like to rebuild before installing. I’ve seen lots of good tips here, but is there a good step by step guide or a good thread with all the little things that I should be aware of? I’m a newbie, but will be working with a a friend who is former shop foreman at a dealer. He has rebuilt engines, but for everyday use not tracks. Also, he isn’t familiar with BMW, do I’d like to be able to point out things that he may not be aware of. Also, is there anyone in the northern Virginia area who has experience with this and can anyone recommend a machine shop? Thanks.

Id say give these 2 articles a good read and see what sort of questions they may conjure up for you! Pages 44 and 50.

http://www.speednewsmag.com/Dec2014.html

I picked up a long block recently with plans on replacing my ~200k motor when it goes. Been doing a bunch of reading up, trying to figure out what I need to replace and what things I can do myself vs. take to a shop. The step by step stuff I expect to get from the Bentley. Given the forum, I expect you’re rebuilding for SE30 racing?

I’ll give you a rundown of my findings. Full disclosure – I’ve never rebuilt a motor, but, like you, am taking on this project for the first time and have been trying to read up on it. People can chime in if I’m on the wrong track. Think of it as me hijacking your thread to get help for myself, but also to help you. :slight_smile: :slight_smile: :slight_smile:

First of all, a few pages I found particularly helpful here were:

M20 description: http://www.e30zone.net/e30zonewiki/index.php/M20
Parts list (with suggestions regarding which parts should be replaced): http://e30performance.info/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=269
Head rebuild step-by-step: http://www.e30zone.net/e30zonewiki/index.php/Stripping_and_Rebuilding_an_M20_Cylinder_Head

The high level rebuild process looks like this:

1. Tear down
  2. Clean
  3. Inspect