abs, whats the deal

Hi all. Im new to spec e30 but not to nasa or racing. My current build is almost complete. My car is an 86 4 door. My motor is from a 90. All my suspension components (trailing arms, subframe,strut tubes, etc) are from the 90. There are no provisions for the abs pump in the engine bay however my suspension components have the holes for the abs sensors.

This being my 4th race car build i have no desire to run an antiquated abs system. Lets be real, its almost 30 years old. So buying parts to retrofit an old system seems to me as being a waste of money when it can be used for consumables.

I definitely plan on going to nationals at some point. Whether im competitive is a different story.

Ive read the rules (new and old) over and over again and it doesnt say anywhere that the abs needs to be in the car or further more operational. I understand the “if its not mentioned then dont do it”.

If the cars have a minimum weight why do i have to carry an abs pump that doesnt work?
When i go to nationals and if the car goes to impound will i be dq’ed for not having the pump?
Why would i be dq’ed for being at a “disadvantage” for not having working abs?

I know this has been a topic in the past but im trying to make sense of this. Any info is appreciated. Cant wait to be out there with the se30 clan.

Thanx
Larry C

You have the right idea. If we were allowed to remove the ABS system, the rules would say so. But it’s generally agreed that there is no requirement that your abs system actually work.

I know of no one in SpecE30 that perceives abs as a hindrance or useless. Sure, there’s lots of folks, especially those with SCCA experience, that dismiss abs, but I think that it’s significant that the guys that are actually in the class are pretty much in agreement that it’s useful.

You wouldn’t be dq’d for being at a disadvantage. You’d be dq’d for being non-compliant. “Not an advantage” is no defense at nationals.